The NCHSE Board of Directors includes representation from health professions, hospitals and other healthcare employers, education, professional associations and state education agencies. The diverse perspectives of the NCHSE Board of Directors in a turf-neutral environment under a non-profit umbrella, opens the doors to innovation and quality results oriented programs and products.

The Board of Directors’ members’ responsibilities are to bring issues from the membership group they represent to the Board for consideration or action, assist with setting priorities for NCHSE pursuits, and implementation of the strategic plan.

Alabama Department of Education
Dana Stringer
www.alsde.edu
Montgomery, AL
Email: ltubbs@alsde.edu
Phone: 334-694-4755

Alaska Primary Care Association 
South Central Area Health Education Center
Marko L. Selle
www.scahecak.org
Email: mariko.selle@providence.org
Phone: 917-212-6584

American Speech Language Hearing Association (ASHA)
Judy Blackburn, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Rockville, MD
www.asha.org
Email: jblackburn@asha.org
Phone: 301-296-5773

California Department of Education
Cindy Beck
Sacramento, CA

Phone: 916-319-0470

Cherry Creek Innovation Campus
Cherry Creek School District No. 5 
Tara Bell
http://ccic.cherrycreekschools.org/
Email: tbell@cherrycreekschools.org
Phone: 720-554-2605

Colorado Community College System
Dori Babcock
www.cccs.edu
Denver, CO
Email: Dori.babcock@cccs.edu
Phone: 720-858-2297

Delaware Department of Education
Peg Enslen, EdD, RN
www.doe.k12.de.us
Dover, DE
Email: peggy.enslen@doe.k12.de.us
Phone: 302-857-3320

Georgia Department of Education
Dr. Tiffany Barney
www.gadoe.org
Atlanta, GA
Email: tbarney@doe.k12.ga.us 
Phone: (404) 651-7275

HOSA, Inc. (HOSA – Future Health Professionals)
Jim Koeninger, Ph.D
www.hosa.org
Southlake, TX
Email: jim.koeninger@hosa.org
Phone: 972-874-0062

Idaho Career & Technical Education
Stephanie Mai
www.cte.idaho.gov
Boise, ID
Email: Stephanie.Mai@cte.idaho.gov
Phone: 208-429-5507

Illinois State Board of Education 
Whitney Mehaffy
www.isbe.net
Springfield, IL
Email: wmehaffty@isbe.net
Phone: 217-524-4832

Iowa Department of Education 
Pat Thieben
www.educateiowa.gov/program-study
Des Moines, IA
Email: pat.theiben@iowa.gov 
Phone: 515-281-4707

Kansas State Department of Education
Wendy Coates
www.ksde.org/
Topeka, KS
Email: wcoates@ksde.org
Phone: 785-296-3860

Kentucky Department of Education
Peggy Williford
www.education.ky.gov/
Frankfort, KY
Email: peggy.williford@education.ky.gov
Phone: 502-564-4286 Ext. 4212

Lyndon B. Johnson (LBJ) Early College High School
Kevin Edwards
www.lbjearlycollege.austinschools.org/
Austin, TX
Email: kevin.edwards@austinisd.org
Phone: 512-841-3025

Michigan Department of Education
Vacant
www.michigan.gov
Lansing, MI

Minnesota Department of Education
Shelli Sowles
education.state.mn.us/mde/index.html
Roseville, MN
Email: shelli.sowles@state.mn.us
Phone: 651-582-8403

Mississippi Department of Education
Shirley Jackson
www.mde.k12.ms.us/OCTE/PA/health-science-technology
Jackson, MS
Email: shjackson@mdek12.org
Phone: 601-359-3974

Estelle Watts
Email: EWatts@mdek12.org 
Phone: 601-359-3708

Missouri Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
Shelly C. Wehmeyer, RN, BSN
dese.mo.gov/college-career-readiness/career-education/health-sciences
Jefferson City, MO
Email: shelly.wehmeyer@dese.mo.gov
Phone: 573-751-3407

Montana Office of Public Instruction 
Renee Erlansen
http://opi.mt.gov/Educators/Teaching-Learning/Career-Technical-Education/Health-Sciencedese.mo.gov/college-career-readiness/career-education/health-sciences
Helena, MT
Email: rerlansen@mt.gov 
Phone: 406-994-6989

Nebraska Department of Education
Carol Packard
www.nde.state.ne.us/healthscience
Lincoln, NE
Email: carol.packard@nebraska.gov
Phone: 402-471-4813

Nevada Department of Education
Randi Hunewill
www.doe.nv.gov
Carson City, NV
Email: rhunewill@doe.nv.gov
Phone: 775-687-7284

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
Ashley Lamm Orr
www.ncpublicschools.org/
Raleigh, NC
Email: ashley.orr@dpi.nc.gov
Phone: 919-807-3884

Ohio Department of Education 
Matthew Wells
www.career-tech.education.ohio.gov
Columbus, OH
Email:matthew.wells@education.ohio.gov
Phone: 614-387-0157

Oklahoma Department of CareerTech Education
Lara Morris
www.okcareertech.org/
Stillwater, OK
Email: lara.morris@careertech.ok.gov
Phone: 405-743-5106

South Carolina Department of Education
Angel Clark
www.ed.sc.gov
Columbia, SC
Email:  aclark@ed.sc.gov
Phone:   803-734-0372

Utah Department of Education
Joel Marquez
https://www.schools.utah.gov/cte/hs
Salt Lake City, UT
Email: Joel.Marquez@schools.utah.gov 
Phone:   801-538-7843

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
Marianna L. Goheen
www.k12.wa.us
Olympia, WA
Email:  marianna.goheen@k12.wa.us
Phone:  360-725-6257

West Virginia Department of Education
Ashely Torres
www.wvde.state.wv.us
Charleston, WV
Email: atorres@k12.wv.us
Phone: 304-558-3703

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
Christina Patrin
www.dpi.state.wi.us
Madison, WI
Email: christina.patrin@dpi.wi.gov
Phone: 608-266-2347

 

Life Members

Beverly Campbell (Life Member)
Cameron Park, CA
Email: becgroup@sbcglobal.net
Phone: 530-677-1700

Laurene McLemore (Life Member)
Franklin, TN
Email: laurenemclemore@bellsouth.net
Phone: 615-794-0090

Nancy Raynor Russell (Life Member) 
Raleigh, NC
Email: traynors007@aol.com
Phone: 919-848-3295

Scott Hess (Life Member)
Utah
Email: scott.cteservices@gmail.com
Phone: 703-732-0621

Scott Snelson (Life Member) 
Utah
Email: ssnelson8@gmail.com
Phone: 801-870-9927

 

NCHSE Staff

Nancy H. Allen, Executive Director
Phone: 803-480-3318
Email: nancy@healthscienceconsortium.org

NCHSE Chair

Phyllis Johnson, Chair
Phone: 706-325-2076
Email:  phyllis@healthscienceconsortium.org

Lara Morris, Chair-Elect 
Email: Lara.Morris@careertech.ok.gov

Cindy LeCoq, Past-Chair
Email: cindylecoq536@gmail.com