skip to Main Content

National Health Science Certificate

Ensure a Well-Prepared Workforce

The National Health Science Assessment (NHSA) is a validated, knowledge-based (end of program) test designed to evaluate the extent of the candidate’s knowledge of the National Health Sciences Standards.

Register for the Exam

The National Health Science Standards and the NHSA are supported by the Tri-Council of Nursing (American Association of College of Nursing; American Nurses Association; American Organization of Nurse Executives; National League of Nursing) and endorsed by Health Professions Network (HPN) in successfully preparing health science students for transition into postsecondary health science programs.  Upon successful passing of the test, a student is awarded a certificate of proficiency on the health science standards.

In addition to the NHSA, the National Consortium for Health Science Education (NCHSE) along with Precision Exams (PE) offers over fifteen content specific (end of course) health science certificate exams. State education agencies and/or local school districts who are NCHSE members receive assessment discount rates for their schools as well as access to national assessment data.  The purpose of the health science assessments is to measure and document student knowledge and to inform classroom instruction.  By offering more health science assessment choices, health science programs can choose appropriate assessments that meet the needs and intricacies of their individual programs for more beneficial assessment information and performance.

The National Health Science Assessment and Certificate Exams are administered by Precision Exams (PE) and may not be proctored by a health science teacher/instructor, or any individual that has a directly vested interest in the candidates/students’ score on the assessment.

For more information, please refer to the assessment webpage resources.

Register for the Exam

Assessment Content

Assessment content identifies the number of items constructed for each standard competency and the cognitive level test items are going to address. Questions require simple recall as well as the integration of information from several sources, interpretation of pictorial material, prioritization of alternatives, and utilization of critical judgment in reaching a correct conclusion. Therefore, in addition to the National Health Science Assessment’s multiple choice questions, students will answer question types that provide more ways to present and process information.

Assessment Format

Students should be prepared to answer enhanced questions that might appear in the following formats:

  • Multiple Choice
  • Labeling
  • Matching
  • Sequencing/Ordering

These enhanced questions may involve using the cursor to drag and drop and/or choosing an answer by visual picture depiction, etc. By delivering the test item content in multiple formats, the National Health Science Assessment is remaining current with testing standards that require critical thinking and problem-solving. These differentiated test items may provide partial credit points or are worth more than one point per question.

Assessment Blueprint

You’ll Be In Good Company

The National Health Science Standards and Assessment are supported by:

A few years ago, our program only had 5 out of 24 pass the National Health Science Assessment. Using the assessment data provided by Precision Exams, we refined our teaching and curriculum delivery to improve teaching and learning.  In 2019, we proudly presented certifications to 23 out of 24 students!

Katrina Haynes RN BSN, NBCTWhite Knoll High School, SC HOSA Chair, National Board Certified

Increase Your Students’ Performance With These Resources

Back To Top